Tags

, ,

IMG_0418

Seventeen year old Sue’s world has just been rocked by her mother’s unexpected suicide. Since her father has found comfort in the arms of another woman, Sue decides to go and live with her Aunt Coral in the run down Green Place estate. She dreams of being an author, and to keep herself occupied she starts up a writing group along with the other eccentric inhabitants of Green Place. But at the back of her mind always is the possibility that her mother left a suicide note that has yet to be found.

I loved the characters in this book. Sue herself was very endearing, and Aunt Coral was also very likeable. They were all very well written, I felt as though I knew them by the end of novel.

The book was in a journal format, with Sue’s diary interspersed with Aunt Coral’s Commonplace entries. I am not a fan of this format, as I feel it leads to a lot of unnecessary detail and drags the plot out. This was indeed this case here, and I felt the pace of the plot was much too slow. Also, there were a lot of spelling mistakes, deliberate I assume as they are supposed to be errors on Sue’s part when writing in her diary, but it really grated on me.

There were some unexpected twists, and some amusing moments, but there wasn’t enough action for me.